• Handmade / Metal
  • 0
  • English English Russian Русский

How to make a ring from a coin with your own hands

How to make a ring from a coin with your own hands

When making rings, different materials are used (mostly gold and silver). Today's project is devoted to the technology of making a beautiful exclusive ring from not quite ordinary material, namely from a coin. The chip lies in the fact that the ring will retain the drawing of the coin. The project itself is simple, but before you get a decent ring you will have to spend more than one coin. With time, experimenting and improvising, you will come to excellent results.

You will need:

  • coin;
  • Drill with a drill for metal;
  • tweezers;
  • hammer with plastic pins;
  • jewelery bolt (cone);
  • clip of plastic pipe;
  • dremel (mini drill for grinding and polishing)

Instructions

First, you need to imagine how the ring will look, after the coin is rolled out. In the figure below, this is presented in a visual form.

How to make a ring from a coin with your own hands

Make a hole in the coin. It should be located strictly in the center. The diameter of the hole should roughly correspond to the inner diameter of the future ring.

How to make a ring from a coin with your own hands

Heat the coin to a red state, and then abruptly cool it (for example, dip it into cold water). The process of heating and quenching the metal is called annealing and is done to soften the coins (with a coin it will be easier to work). Repeat this operation periodically while making the ring.

How to make a ring from a coin with your own hands

Put the resulting blank in the form of a washer on the jewelry cone. Then, evenly along the entire circumference of the workpiece, apply blows with a hammer, bending it on the cone. To simplify the process, you can keep the bolt horizontally, pushing the coin into some hard (but not metal) surface, turning it slightly after each stroke. By the way, this is the longest and most tedious stage of work on the ring.

How to make a ring from a coin with your own hands

Periodically turn the ring on the jewelry cone wide part up. Do not worry if the ring fails the first time. Most likely to get a satisfactory result, it will take several coins.

How to make a ring from a coin with your own hands

How to make a ring from a coin with your own hands

Soon, the workpiece will acquire a rough appearance of the ring. At this point, you need to adjust the size of the ring. Use a jewelry cone and a hollow plastic pipe for this. To do this, gently blow the hammer on the pipe, lay the coin on the bolt to the desired size. By the way, at this step the ring will find a more round shape and increase in size. The main thing is not to overdo it - the way to squeeze the ring back has not yet been invented.

How to make a ring from a coin with your own hands

The next tedious stage of processing is coming - the ring needs to be polished in order to reveal the smallest details of the inscriptions. To facilitate polishing, it is better to use a dremel and a special paste. Before polishing, the workpiece should be reheated and lowered into cold water to descale. At the very beginning of polishing, proceed neatly - walk one or two times, wipe the ring and make sure that the small parts do not start to be eaten. It depends on the coin fusion. Steel will withstand and not such loads, but tender copper and, especially, zinc can wither. Do not forget about the inner part of the ring - it must also be polished.

How to make a ring from a coin with your own hands

That's all! If you do not stop halfway and have gone through all the stages of making the ring, then you have on your hands a unique ring of not quite the usual material.

How to make a ring from a coin with your own hands

How to make a ring from a coin with your own hands

PS This can happen very often, especially at the very beginning, until you fill your hand.

How to make a ring from a coin with your own hands

Do it, and let inspiration come with you!

avatar
css.php
GTranslate Your license is inactive or expired, please subscribe again!

• Handmade / Металл
  • 0
  • English English Русский Русский

Как своими руками сделать кольцо из монеты

Как своими руками сделать кольцо из монеты

При изготовлении колец используют различные материалы (в основном золото и серебро). Сегодняшний проект посвящен технологии изготовления прекрасного эксклюзивного кольца из не совсем обычного материала, а именно из монеты. Фишка заключается в том, что кольцо сохранит рисунок монеты. Проект сам по себе прост, однако прежде чем получится достойное кольцо придется потратить не одну монету. Со временем, экспериментируя и импровизируя, вы придете к отличным результатам.

Вам потребуется:

  • монета;
  • дрель со сверлом по металлу;
  • пинцет;
  • молоток с пластиковыми бойками;
  • ювелирный ригель (конус);
  • обрезок пластиковой трубы;
  • дремель (мини-дрель для шлифовки и полировки)

Инструкция

Для начала необходимо представить, как будет выглядеть кольцо, после выворачивания монеты. На рисунке ниже это представлено в наглядном виде.

Как своими руками сделать кольцо из монеты

Сделайте в монете отверстие. Оно должно быть расположено строго по центру. Диаметр отверстия должен примерно соответствовать внутреннему диаметру будущего кольца.

Как своими руками сделать кольцо из монеты

Нагрейте монету до красного состояния, а затем резко охладите ее (например опустите в холодную воду). Процесс нагрева и резкого охлаждения металла называется отжигом и делается для размягчения монеты (с монетой будет легче работать). Повторяйте эту операцию периодически в процессе изготовления кольца.

Как своими руками сделать кольцо из монеты

Наденьте полученную заготовку в виде шайбы на ювелирный конус. Затем, равномерно по всей окружности заготовки наносите удары молотком, загибая ее на конус. Для упрощения процесса можно держать ригель горизонтально, упирая монету в какую-нибудь твердую (но не металлическую) поверхность, немного поворачивая его после каждого удара. Кстати, это самый длительный и утомительный этап работы над кольцом.

Как своими руками сделать кольцо из монеты

Периодически переворачивайте кольцо на ювелирном конусе широкой частью вверх. Не огорчайтесь, если с первого раза кольцо не получится. Скорее всего чтобы получить удовлетворительный результат потребуется несколько монет.

Как своими руками сделать кольцо из монеты

Как своими руками сделать кольцо из монеты

Вскоре заготовка приобретет черновой вид кольца. На этом этапе необходимо отрегулировать размер кольца. Используйте для этого ювелирный конус и полую пластиковую трубу. Для этого мягкими ударами молотка по трубе, осадите монету на ригель до нужного размера. Кстати, на этом шаге кольцо обретет более круглую форму и увеличивается в размере. Главное, не переборщить – способа ужать кольцо обратно пока не придумано.

Как своими руками сделать кольцо из монеты

Наступает следующий утомительный этап обработки — кольцо нужно отполировать, чтобы проявились мельчайшие детали надписей. Для облегчения полирования лучше воспользоваться дремелем и специальной пастой. Перед полировкой заготовку лучше снова нагреть и опустить в холодную воду чтобы сошла окалина. В самом начале полировки действуйте аккуратно – пройтись один-два раза, протрите кольцо и убедитесь, что мелкие детали не начали съедаться. Это зависит от сплава монеты. Сталь выдержит и не такие нагрузки, а вот нежная медь и, тем более, цинк могут затереться. Не забывайте про внутреннюю часть кольца — ее тоже необходимо отполировать.

Как своими руками сделать кольцо из монеты

Вот и все! Если вы не остановились на полпути и прошли все этапы изготовления кольца, то у вас на руках уникальное кольцо из не совсем обычного материала.

Как своими руками сделать кольцо из монеты

Как своими руками сделать кольцо из монеты

P.S. Вот такое может получаться очень часто, особенно в самом начале, пока не набьете руку.

Как своими руками сделать кольцо из монеты

Творите, и да прибудет с вами вдохновение!

avatar
css.php